New Discipline Problems at Page

When students openly assault school staff, there is a problem somewhere. It’s not supposed to happen and if and when it does, there should be immediate consequences. This was how it was when I was in school 20 years ago. If I ever put my hand on a teacher when I was in school, it could have meant expulsion.

But welcome to the new GCS, where the concept of expulsion seems to be unheard of. We’re afraid to suspend children because keeping Grier off of your case takes more of a priority than keeping clasrooms and schools under control.

Plain and simple, school staff have enough to deal with rather than worrying about kids wanting to fight teachers. And as such, working conditions for GCS employees should be free of behavior problems involving students and a zero-tolerance policy should be created and enforced. If I’m elected to the School Board next year, I promise to work hard to create such a policy as part of an overall strategy to crack down on discipline and behavior.

Case in point…I’ve been made aware of some possible cases of students assaulting staff members at Page H.S. with not-so-immediate consequences by administration. I’m investigating the incidents as I speak.

Teachers read this blog and the campaign website. And many anonymously participate and comment. If you have been the victim of violence or assault at any GCS facility, I encourage you to send me a note anonymously. I promise I will investigate.

Sounds like this is what GCS needs…an employee “inspector general.”

E.C. 🙂

Leave a Reply

