The “Loot”ery

I feel hoodwinked. Have you felt hoodwinked lately?

I actually supported the new NC state lottery. Yes, I was sold on the idea of lottery revenues for education. Now that I’ve seen the back-and-forth with lottery revenues contributing (or really, not contributing) to fund GCS construction projects and Gov. Easley doing the “Texas-two-step” flip-flop on reducing lottery revenues in favor of bigger payouts, I feel cheated.

So now it’s time to have a real dialogue on changing the funding formula for education in this state. And this dialogue needs to take place in Raleigh. Enough already with the politics and fund these schools the way they need to be funded. I called in to the “Brad & Britt” show yesterday (airs weekday mornings on FM Talk 101.1 WZTK) and they were discussing this very subject. I said that the entire state education funding formula (lootery or no lootery)  needs to be revamped now.

Skip is right…what happens if the proposed fall school bond makes it to the ballot but doesn’t pass? And there’s a very good chance that it won’t; Grier & Co. is not very popular these days.

E.C. 🙂

Leave a comment