9 states to give common math test: AP

Here we go again with this national testing garbage.

Nine states have come together for the first time to develop a common high school math test, a move described by some as a step toward national educational standards, according to an Associated Press story.

An excerpt:

This group of states has decided to share a test and standards for Algebra II, saying a subject like that shouldn’t vary across state lines.

The states are Arkansas, Kentucky, Indiana, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Jersey, Ohio, Pennsylvania and Rhode Island. They were to announce their effort Tuesday.

The states are still trying to figure out which students will be given the test in the short term, but eventually the test will likely be given to all students who take Algebra II.

All the states are considering making scores on the test available to college placement offices to help determine the level of coursework freshmen are prepared to take, according to Mike Cohen, president of Achieve Inc., a Washington-based nonprofit that is helping design the standards.

E.C. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: