GCS School Discipline Task Force Members Named

The News & Record’s “Chalkboard” is reporting that the long-awaited GCS Task Force on school discipline has been named, and will meet for the first time this Thursday morning. Members include:

Board of Education Co-Chairs: Amos Quick and Alan Duncan
Central Office Liaisons: Eric Becoats, John Morris, Monica Walker

Task Force Members:
Chief Jim Fealy (High Point Police Chief)
Mark Jewell (President GCAE)
Terrina Picarello (PTO Council)
Uma Avva (Past GCS PTA Council Pres. & Parent)
Clay Coldron (Parent)
Martin Green (Ragsdale Parent)
Rev. Cardes Brown (Greensboro Minister)
Rev. Williams Fails (High Point Minister & Parent)
Joe Pass (Northwest SRO)
Clarence Roulhac (Smith SRO)
Yamile Walker (Hispanic representative)
Simon Be (Smith High student)
Linda Mozell (Dudley Parent)
Alan Parker (Southwest High Principal)
Sharon McCants (Kiser Middle Principal)
Rodney Wilds (Jackson Middle Principal)
Zabala Vigoya (Grimsley Student)
Donald Cooley (Andrews Student)
Kim Oakley (Eastern Middle Teacher)
Julie Kimsey (Ferndale Teacher)
Dawn Duppstadt (Northeast High Teacher)
Leslie Mise (Southeast High Teacher)
Shawn Watlington (Greensboro College Middle College Teacher)

I think this is a good cross-section of folks and a lot of good can be done. At least, is my hope that a lot of good can be done. Time will tell.

Past coverage on this task force can be found here.

E.C. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: