A Year Away

The image “https://i2.wp.com/www.geocities.com/hueyforguilfordschoolboard/campaign1.JPG” cannot be displayed, because it contains errors. One year ago in the 2006 county elections, I wrote in (typed in) my name instead of voting for at-large School Board member and candidate Nancy Routh (who ran unopposed).

The image “http://tbn0.google.com/images?q=tbn:jzWExfEKfv6FBM:http://www.theyoungdemocrats.com/nrouth.jpg” cannot be displayed, because it contains errors. It wasn’t necessarily a “no-vote” against Nancy Routh, it was a vote that was intended to send a message that it was time for a change down on Eugene Street and that incumbents running unopposed when we have serious issues in local education was not the message we needed to be sending.

But me writing my name in sparked a crazy idea…that I, a normal “joe,” could actually run for school board here in the Peoples Republic of Guilford County, get my name on the ballot, run a real political campaign, debate, meet new people on the campaign trail…and actually win.

It was a fantasy I decided to pursue…well, now it’s no longer a fantasy, and this is certainly not a warped reality show.

The image “https://i2.wp.com/www.gcsnc.com/boe/images/kearns1.jpg” cannot be displayed, because it contains errors. I’m running for school board next year against Dot Kearns. And I plan to win. Our children deserve change and reform…and that is what my campaign plans to deliver.

Between last year’s election and last December 5, 2006, I assessed the possibility of running for school board and winning…and at the time, I thought my chances looked good. I doubt myself periodically and yet, I still ask myself that question from time to time. But I’m confident that we will raise the consciousness level of our electorate between now and this time next year.

Only problem is this…Dot Kearns doesn’t know if she’s running again. For a May primary, she has until February (the filing period) to decide whether she will run again or not.

We’ve run this campaign as if she will run again and we’re prepared with all our might to take her down. But in the back of my mind, as she has been a fixture in local politics for a number of years, she may retire gracefully. If she does, we will wish her well, and we will run this campaign from the standpoint of running for an open-seat.

We’ve spent nearly this past year refining this blog, speaking at school board meetings, writing countless letters, sending out press releases, and taking advantage of every opportunity to get our message of change and reform across. And we’ve made quite a bit of progress.

I just had a good meeting with some key people from the Community Dialogue on Education in Greensboro, who meet weekly near Downtown Greensboro. Many of their top issues are those that resonate with this campaign.

I’m still close to naming a campaign manager (I’m not quite there yet, if you’re interested, drop me a line so we can talk).

I’ve established some key dialogue with the John Locke Foundation, which advocates for reform in education statewide. I sincerely and humbly appreciate their early nod of support; this blog was recently recognized by the JLF as a “must-read” for anyone interested in education and politics in Guilford County.

I’m meeting with teachers, parents, and even students countywide to discuss the issues. I’m setting up another meet-and-greet in the High Point area and I would also like to set up a meet-and-greet for the Jamestown area, perhaps at or near the Jamestown Public Library (I’m scouting out locations).

I participated in the recent One Guilford symposium. I did a talk at the recent ConvergeSouth. I also met some of my new neighbors in the Brook Run community of north Jamestown/Adams Farm and shook hands and handed out campaign fliers while taking my daughter trick-or-treating last week.

It’s been a busy year of “pre-campaigning,” but we’ve got a long way to go and we’re just getting started.

I wish all of our candidates the best of luck as they’re running for local offices today. But tomorrow, the real fun begins as we prepare to gear up for the February filing period.

E.C. 🙂

Leave a Reply

