Garth restarting his blog?

The image “https://i1.wp.com/www.gcsnc.com/boe/images/hebert1.JPG” cannot be displayed, because it contains errors. GCS Board member Garth Hebert has been very vocal lately on the News & Record Chalkboard blog. Could we be seeing an eventual resurgence of his former campaign website blog? His site is still live.

I would encourage it.

Case in point…a reader a couple of days ago posted some rather poignant questions to Garth on the Chalkboard. Here’s a snippet of that exchange:

Bubba Luvs Jesus said:

Garth,

Why do teacher days (catch up) off for students not occur on either Mondays or Fridays in order for students to have an extended weekend? They seem to always occur during mid-week. Some of the teachers I know refer to them as usually a total waste. Meetings that are typically useless many times consume the bulk of these days.

Do you and Terry G get along quite well?

Is everyone who on this blog sang your praises last year still supporting you? Have any hate mail, cross burnings in your front yard occurred yet?

Is it harder to keep the debits and credits in balance at the BOE compared to your accounting practice?

Is your Board colleague Deena to consumed with issues of race instead of education for all kids?

Why do you think there is more unruliness and misbehavior at the largely minority populated County schools as opposed to the others?

Your thoughts on these and other matters you feel of concern would are appreciated.

Lord Hear Our Prayers.

Bubba:

I also believe teacher workdays are mismanaged, but if they are Monday Friday like I would like, teachers would take days off also. Though I believe that after school training would be more approved of by teachers and more effective the State feels otherwise. They are required therefore the wisdom is to stagger them so the same courses are not equally impacted in certain High Schools and Elementary schools.

The image “http://tbn0.google.com/images?q=tbn:yaYMzb6jdjwM9M:http://www.unctv.org/paideia/assets/experts/terrygrier.jpg” cannot be displayed, because it contains errors. Terry tolerates me quite well, but no one is expecting a love fest anytime soon.

I never ran to please bloggers, I am what I am and apologize freely for my screw ups. I made quite clear my first priority was the kids, especially those from poorer backgrounds such as my own. I do not believe we are going the right direction and giving preferences to intolerable behaviors and not giving self respect and accomplishments is wrong, terribly wrong.

Joe Stafford has found it in his heart to point out where he believes I have failed him and the kids, he has my gratitude and respect. There is currently a burning ban, when it is lifted all cross burners are invited to email me and please schedule a night I can be free to attend and bring marshmallows and hot dogs. I prefer hickory for dogs and oak for mallows. I am doing what I said I would, some things take time.

Is it harder to keep the debits and credits in balance at the BOE compared to your accounting practice? This question I refuse to answer at this time. Knowledge is power.

The image “https://i1.wp.com/www.gcsnc.com/boe/images/hayes.jpg” cannot be displayed, because it contains errors. Is your Board colleague Deena to consumed with issues of race instead of education for all kids? As long as Deena is consumed with race and keeps away from conflicts of interest I will respect her cause. I may feel she betrays her race by promoting the acceptance of poor behavior among minorities, but it is at least a somewhat legitimate debate.

Behavior: I again will evade a question partially, Look at schools across the nation that require strict standards and you will see they outperform their cohorts of similar demographics. It is not a race or economics issue, it is an issue of tolerating what employers will not.

My own thoughts…I have never said I would pursue a career in politics, 2 years from now another crazy fool from district 2 will need to step forward and try to make a difference. They will find it a growing, rewarding and meaningful experience.

Last, I sure hope he hears my prayers…

One Response

  1. […] insurgence’ Share by dhoggard  in Guilford County Schools Future school board member E.C. Huey points to comments – great comments – made over at the N&R’s Chalkboard by current GC […]

Leave a Reply

