Teacher snaps at Smith

 DEVELOPING STORY…UPDATES BELOW…

The image “http://tbn0.google.com/images?q=tbn:0C9W8mQzkHtzlM:http://schoolcenter.gcsnc.com/images/pageitems/504/p1542591062_70289.jpg” cannot be displayed, because it contains errors. A second incident of a teacher unleashing their stress on their students in as many days/weeks has GCS officials concerned.

This latest incident involves a music teacher at Smith High School, a school that’s trying to weather several academic challenges.

http://www.myfoxwghp.com/myfox/photo_servlet?contentId=4945860&version=1&locale=EN-US&subtype=MIMG&siteId=1009&isP16=true Dr. Evelyn Fair, frustrated that a colleague called in sick and as a result had to absorb the other teacher’s students for the day, unloaded her anger on her students after receiving complaints about recent conduct grades.

The students took out their cell phones and recorded the meltdown.

Here we go.

Here’s the audio of the tape, courtesy of FOX-8.

Here’s the reported transcript, as reported from a FOX-8 story:

I talk to your parents, I do referrals for your s***, I write s*** up for you. F*** this! I do all this crap cause I love you, and I care about you and you gon’ treat me like this? No. Absolutely not!

I bend over backwards for you kids ‘cause I love you, when I said I adopted you, that s*** was straight. Don’t you give me this crap with your ghetto attitude. You want to get ghetto, I’ll go ghetto. I grew up in the ghetto. Don’t give me this s***, thinkin’ you hard. You wanna see hard, you want to see hard? I’ll get in touch with everyone of your mamas and daddies and we’ll get hard.

Don’t you give me this crap, you tell all your little friends, don’t give me this crap. I don’t have to do what I do here, I do it cause I love you.

******************************

A lot of things went wrong here.

Number one…the kids, who are NOT SUPPOSED TO HAVE THE CELL PHONES OUT AND ON DURING CLASSTIME. But this is very hard to police. And not to mention the kids are talking right over Dr. Fair. Listen again to the audio…if you can.
Number two, yes, Dr. Fair lost it, there’s no question, but have you heard some of the language coming out some of the students mouths lately…towards teachers? If I had a dollar for everytime I’ve been cursed out by a student, I’d be rich. To be frank, the language Dr. Fair used was mild, compared to what we hear out of these young mouths frequently.

And teachers are supposed to take it and act professional.

Number three, and I’m not condoning how Dr. Fair expressed her anger, but it sounds as though she was not given support, whether it was the emotional support that ALL of our teachers need from their front offices or the supply support our teachers need from downtown…I can tell you neither one is happening right now.

If you’ve been paying attention to the “Debatables” blog or the Chalkboard blog over at the News & Record, many teachers have written in anonymously over the past few days. They want to talk. They want to vent. They want to publicly express themselves…but they can’t because they fear reprisals from their principals. They’re labeled “disloyal” and “disrespecting the chain of command” if they even speak to a GCS Board member. This is wrong. And this is something I will address in my first three months in office when I’m elected next year.

Our teachers and school staffs need to feel as though they can talk open and freely without anything happening to them. Working conditions in our schools are a joke and are never addressed.

*************************

The image “http://tbn0.google.com/images?q=tbn:kOLqjuX4cdjvTM:http://www.gcsnc.com/boe/images/hayes.jpg” cannot be displayed, because it contains errors. Board member Deena Hayes told CBS-2 that the district is investigating the situation and that Superintendent Terry Grier takes very seriously.

Is that the best you can do, Deena?

The image “http://tbn0.google.com/images?q=tbn:VerqXBOiPFmRTM:http://www.pbs.org/newshour/images/education/july-dec97/boo15.gif” cannot be displayed, because it contains errors. Plain and simple, our schools are out of control. The fights, the fires, the lack of discipline…and remember for all of this, Dr. Grier got a raise…and was named Superintendent of the year.

Didn’t I say buckle up back in September…it was going to be another long year? Well, it’s only November.

Link to N&R story here.

Link to Doug Clark’s blog here.

Link to N&R Debatables blog here.

********************************

UPDATE: 11/16/07, 12:32PM: N&R editorial page editor Allen Johnson started a strand on his blog. He defends Dr. Fair, saying “he respects the spirit in which she said [the remarks].”

An excerpt:

To be honest, my initial reaction to the teacher suspended from Smith High School because of blistering words she directed toward her music class was sympathy, not outrage.

Yes, she probably crossed the line in her use of profanity and her threat to “get ghetto” on the class, but she seemed mainly guilty of only trying to give the students a dose of tough love.

I’ve done that myself more than once in my teaching career. In the long run, so far as I can tell, my students have seemed to appreciate it.

Amid all the words she spoke to the kids these stood out most for me: “I do all this crap because I love you and I care about you and you’re going to treat me like this?”

****************************

The image “https://i1.wp.com/schoolcenter.gcsnc.com/images/pageitems/147044/p113260925_94810.jpg” cannot be displayed, because it contains errors. The more I digest this situation today, the more feelings of sympathy I’m starting to garner for Dr. Fair.

The image “http://tbn0.google.com/images?q=tbn:1uiwKLWcbQi_VM:http://www.ncspin.com/images/ncnotables/howdy.manning.jpg” cannot be displayed, because it contains errors. And in a school like Smith, which is one step short of being shut down by Judge Howard Manning, it may take tough love to get through to some of them.

Link to more coverage from Ed Cone here.

Another blogger picked it up here.

Local talkers Brad & Britt from FM Talk 101.1 WZTK talked about it this morning.

E.C. 🙂

3 Responses

  1. I sorta understand how she felt, being under all the emotional stress that the students put her through. But when I went to school (I graduated in June of 2007), there were some teachers that would curse, and they wouldnt get in trouble. So I’m sorta on both the teacher and the student’s side when it comes to this situation. I feel more sorry for the students who were trying to learn who was stuck in this situation…cause didn’t one student run out of the classroom crying?
    andy by the way, that teacher doesn’t really look like she woul know anything about ghetto…she surprised them, didn’t she? I’m glad a classy looking woman like her went “ghetto” on some of those students, haha! But she could have handled it a little more better than what she did…but let’s hope everything will get back to normal when she returns to the school.

  2. We all can be grateful that our schools are being directed by the Superintendent of the Year here, or things would be much worse. Right? Right?

Leave a Reply

