Decisions

 UPDATE BELOW…

https://i1.wp.com/a252.ac-images.myspacecdn.com/images01/13/m_5f1bbd7fabcb1be4c9287409547905fb.jpg I like writing this blog. Obviously, you all like it too.

Because it is a direct channel to you the voter, of my most intimate thoughts and feelings affecting Guilford County Schools and its children. This is not a reality show unfolding before your eyes. This is reality…unscripted.

In this past year, I’ve shared my passion and my anger, my happiness and my sadness with all of you. Many of you have responded. Some with letters, many with comments, some with a thumbs-up. Some with a thumbs-down, but that’s okay.

And at an average of about 120 readers/visitors daily, you’re very interested in learning what I have to say next. I appreciate that.

Perfect example…my wife and my daughter and I were in the North High Point Harris-Teeter at Eastchester/Wendover/Skeet Club over the weekend. Wearing my campaign button on my overcoat, we were just doing some light shopping. Not only did I get some smiles and some thumbs-ups, I had a brief opportunity to shake a couple of hands and exchange some kind words with others in the store. I appreciated that immensely.

But now, it is time to make some serious decisions and do some serious thinking over these next 60 days. And I don’t mind accepting your help in these decisions.

Because whatever decisions are made with respect to this campaign and beyond will affect you and will affect our children. I want to make sure I’m making the right decisions and that I’m putting our children first above all else.

The image “https://i2.wp.com/www.gcsnc.com/images/sharpe.jpg” cannot be displayed, because it contains errors. It has been brought to this campaign’s attention that GCS Board member Anita Sharpe may retire from the board after 16 years of service.

GCS Board member Garth Hebert writes on the N&R Chalkboard today: “Anita has quite publicly indicated that after 16 years she might retire from Board, this is a great loss to the Board and I hope she will reconsider, she is fantastic and no taxpayer has right to complain about her great service.”

Sixteen years is a long time, nonetheless, I hear nothing less than kind words about Ms. Sharpe. I don’t know her personally, and I haven’t agreed with all of her votes as of late, but she appears willing to listen to voters and parents.

But if she retires, this leaves District 5 as an open seat. District 5 serves Alamance Elementary, Eastern High, Eastern Middle, The Middle College at GTCC – Jamestown, Jamestown Elementary, Jamestown Middle, Millis Road Elementary, Nathanael Greene Elementary, Pilot Elementary, Pleasant Garden Elementary, Ragsdale High, Sedalia Elementary, Southeast High, Southeast Middle, Southern Middle, Southern High and Sumner Elementary.

After my move to north Jamestown/Adams Farm earlier this summer, I am now a resident of District 5.

Looking at the vote totals from four years ago, an opposition candidate (who dropped out of the race prior to the election) garnered almost 40% of the vote in the 2004 general election for District 5. So even though Sharpe may be well-liked, 40% for a candidate who dropped out says something, in my opinion.

What I’m getting at is I want to file in the race that I have a strong chance of winning. There’s a lot I want to do to begin helping our children and I have a strong agenda, waiting to be executed. But I can’t help if I’m not elected. And honestly, I’d really like to win next year.

If it’s the at-large race, then so be it. If it is the District 5 race, then so be it. But I want to ensure the support is there in the at-large race should one or more candidates desire to mount a challenge. I know my name is getting out there countywide, and I have you to thank for that.

Kearns hasn’t yet decided if she’s running again for the at-large seat, so we just don’t know at this point. I’ve been running this race as if she will run again, but I’ll be shocked if she will.

But if there are only two candidates that file for the at-large or district races, then the two will square off in November, if I have this correct. If there are more than two, there will be a primary in May. If the candidate runs unopposed, then he/she is an automatic shoo-in. Their name will appear on next November’s ballot by itself.

There was a lot of apathy in the 2006 races. Chairman Duncan, Routh, Belton and Hayes ran unopposed. Will apathy present itself again next year?

So I want to open this up, get your thoughts and tell me what you think. I don’t have a campaign manager yet (I’m still looking for a good one). And I’m not even looking at the money aspect, although running a district race would be cheaper than running a countywide race. But campaign funding aside, I want to run for the seat that I have a strong chance of winning.

Okay, I’m done. Your thoughts, please.

************************

UPDATE: 12/14/07, 8:14AM: I should clarify some points, based on a couple of e-mails I received.

I would not run directly against Anita Sharpe if she decided to remain on the board and run for reelection. I would not want to go head to head against her. In addition, if I were to run for the District 5 seat instead of the at-large, I would wait until she publicly and officially made her decision and announcement to retire. So there are a lot of variables here.

E.C. 🙂

Leave a Reply

