Happy New Year 2008!

The image “https://i0.wp.com/erikhuey.wordpress.com/avatar/erikhuey-128.jpg” cannot be displayed, because it contains errors.The image “https://i1.wp.com/a252.ac-images.myspacecdn.com/images01/13/m_5f1bbd7fabcb1be4c9287409547905fb.jpg” cannot be displayed, because it contains errors.

Happy 2008.

Let me be the first to wish you all a very happy and healthy new year. I hope you all enjoyed the holidays and are looking forward to a prosperous and successful new year.

Looking ahead and moving forward, now begins the first of many “crunch-times” in 2008. February 11 will kick off the filing period. February 11 is only 40 days away. So far, no one else has publicly come out and expressed interest in running…for any of the Board seats.

It’s good as it is bad. It is good in the sense that if no one files to go up against me, it will practically be winner-takes-all. but it is bad in the sense that there is apathy in Guilford County when it comes to our schools. The apathy must stop. Too much is at stake in this year’s elections. We’ve got to have real talent to go up against Kris Cooke and Walt Childs, if those two run again. We’re not hearing of anyone wanting to challenge Amos Quick or Darlene Garrett. Garrett is strong, and I don’t vision any challenge to her possible reelection.

See, if there’s strong talent on the Board, then we can create a voting bloc, and that’s what’s needed to start getting some things done.

In the next few weeks, I’m setting up meetings and coffees, and I’ll be submitting articles and columns. I’ll also be working on some major enhancements to the main website: www.hueyforguilfordschoolboard.org.

I will also be working on scripts for short spots I will begin filming around the county over the next couple of months. The spots will initially be for the website, but can easily be used for television, if it comes down to it.

You’re asking what you can do?

1. Please register to vote, if you’re not registered. And vote. Vote for real change and real progress in our schools.

2. Make a donation…click here to do so.

3. Host a coffee in your home with your friends and neighbors. I enjoy speaking with small groups about the potential progress we can make in our schools. E-mail me or call me at 336/686-6051 to do so.

4. Write letters to the editor on my behalf supporting this campaign…the News & Record, the High Point Enterprise, the Jamestown News, Rhino Times, YES! Weekly, Adams Farm News, Carolina Peacemaker, Northwest Observer.

5. Find 3…Tell 3. Find three people and tell those three people about this campaign. It could be a family member, a friend, a neighbor, a co-worker,  someone you go to church with, your bridge partner, your bar-hopping buddy or your golfing partner…find 3, tell 3. This campaign is grass-roots, but we’re picking up support little by little each day. This is how we’ll cruise to victory later this year.

I’ve truly enjoyed meeting new friends and making new connections over the past year and I’m looking forward to doing more of this in the new year. This campaign has turned a lot of heads over the past year, primarily because we’ve challenged the status quo, and trust me, downtown is starting to listen.

The response has been overwhelming and I sincerely appreciate it.

Thank you again, happy new year, and let’s get ready for February!

God bless you all, and God bless our children.

E.C. 🙂

5 Responses

  1. Happy New Year! Do the kids start back tomorrow?

  2. Happy new year to you too, Tuna.

    The kids go back Thursday, 1/3. Tomorrow, 1/2, is a teacher workday-staff only.

  3. Erik, which district are you in?

  4. Erik, what district will you be running in?

  5. I live in Anita Sharpe’s district 5. There are unconfirmed rumors that Sharpe will retire off the Board.

    But all the while, I said I would run for the at-large seat against Dot Kearns. I haven’t heard her say if she will run again or not, and it is very likely she will retire as well.

    I’m still evaluating which seat I have a good shot of running in and I may wait a day or two to see who files for what seat, but as of now, I’m still running at-large.

Leave a Reply

