Who wants to be a school board member?

https://i2.wp.com/latimesblogs.latimes.com/schoolme/images/schoolboard.jpg

When you put your name on the ballot, your phone starts ringing. It never stops.

Well, mine paused a little over the weekend, and subsided this morning.

But the kind words from many of you, including my supporters, curious onlookers, voters, parents and teachers over the past few days are sincere, appreciated and heartfelt. I will do my best during this week to respond to all of them as best I can. Thanks especially to my blogger friends Guarino and Billy “the blogging poet” Jones for the kind words lately also.

First, a word about the challengers in the race. Michael McKinney, David Crawford, Alan Hawkes and Sandra Alexander…I wish you all the best of luck, a heartfelt welcome to all of these individuals in the race and may the best candidate win. And I mean that.

I will be reaching out to all of these individuals on a personal level before the week is out as a sign of goodwill. I look forward to very spirited debates on the issues before the May 6 primary.

But remember, early voting starts NEXT MONTH (April 17), so we really don’t have a lot of time at all. We will have to assemble volunteers, staff, and the all-important campaign paraphernalia (buttons, yard signs, bumper stickers, etc). It takes money. Not the easiest feat in the world when you’re not working full-time at present. But we’ll do our absolute best. As you noticed, in addition to my “E.C.” signature on my blogs, I have now started adding a “Donate” button:

The image “https://www.paypal.com/en_US/i/btn/btn_donateCC_LG.gif” cannot be displayed, because it contains errors.

Please click it, if you feel inclined, to donate a dollar or two or three. It’s real simple, and it should only take you a couple of minutes to submit your donation. Remember that there are no special interests in my campaign and I will not take any PAC money. My interests are those children who need a strong voice and advocate. That’s my pledge and solemn vow.

It’s interesting that there is already a prediction of a Huey versus McKinney matchup for November. I’m flattered, but I think the prediction is premature. It’s way too early to speculate the November matchup.

With the exception of Hawkes and Crawford (both have run for office before), we’re all political neophytes. So it will be a campaign of ideas, issues, face-time in the press, old-fashioned door-to-door campaigning and who outshines the others in the debates, along with endorsements.

I sincerely appreciate all of the offers of support, I will need it all. It’s going to be an exciting race.

The image “https://www.paypal.com/en_US/i/btn/btn_donateCC_LG.gif” cannot be displayed, because it contains errors.

E.C. )

Leave a Reply

