I have 7,283 new friends

Let not your heart be troubled over Tuesday’s results.

I’m not down, I’m not discouraged, I’m stronger than ever.

While the numbers clearly didn’t go our way Tuesday, for us to garner 7,283 votes says a lot. Let me be clear…this is not a defeat. It is a call for action, it is a call for pure change in our schools, a call for accountability in our Central Office, and it is a wake up call for our Board to be on notice that there are at least 7,000 in our county (if not more) that are demanding change.

Here are the final, unofficial numbers:

BOARD OF EDUCATION – At Large

with 164 of 164 Precincts counted (100.00%)

Votes Percent
David Crawford 16,141 16.70%
Alan Hawkes 10,521 10.88%
Erik (E. C.) Huey 7,283 7.53%
Michael McKinney 20,040 20.73%
Sandra Alexander 42,676 44.15%

There clearly is a lot to analyze here, and we will do so in the coming days. But at 12:23am, let me say just a few things to close out Election Day.

1. I want to recognize my opponents Alan Hawkes and David Crawford on a good campaign. I’ve enjoyed meeting them both and I wish them the best. Mr. Hawkes is still involved in the operation of Greensboro Academy, which is a very successful charter school on Greensboro’s northwest side, and I thank him for his dedication to our children.

2. I want to publicly congratulate Dr. Alexander and Mr. McKinney on their respective victories Tuesday. I congratulated both of them at the Old County Courthouse Tuesday evening. They both ran fine campaigns, and the margin of victory for Alexander was startling. I told both of them that I want to spend time with both of them over the summer and over coffee to discuss the issues that were near and dear to me and my supporters and perhaps see if there is any common ground. Both were very gracious and warm and I wish them well in their race in the fall.

3. I want to thank you…all of you. I had volunteers who worked the polls Tuesday…who took precious, valuable time out of their busy schedules to pass out fliers on this campaign’s behalf. Thank you very much for all of your hard work and effort. To those who displayed a yard sign, thank you. To those who sent in a donation (and we raised close to $400)…a heartfelt thank you. To the many voters whom I personally greeted on the campaign trail since 2006 and whom I met for the first time on Election Day…thank you for your support and your vote.

I’m eternally grateful and I’m humbled at the outpouring of support. It really means a lot.

4. I want to thank my family…my wife Jennifer and my daughter Alexandra. This campaign was dedicated to her and to the 71,000 children who attend a Guilford County Schools facility, and Alexandra was one of them. Running for office means you sacrifice yourself, you sacrifice your time and that’s time away from your family and your family sacrifices you while you’re running. So for me being away to campaign, even when the timing wasn’t so perfect, thank you. I love you.

5. Where we go from here…many have asked that I continue my blog…done. Effective immediately, I have instituted a new name for this blog as “Guilford School Watch,” because I will continue to focus on the issues that matter to our children. This continues to be the best-read “independent blog” on education issues in Guilford County. We may have lost the election, but this blog isn’t dead. This campaign to put our children first isn’t dead. If anything, it continues to make us strong. And it will.

I think it is too early to speculate on 2010 (Dr. Routh’s seat)…she has made no secret that she will likely retire after this current term. Running for her seat is tempting, but we will have to see where things are in late 2010. It would be a short race, with filing close to the fall for a primary (if there is one) then a general election in November 2010. But again, it is way too early to make any kind of prediction or speculation.

I plan to enjoy this time of rest. Travel a little bit. It is time to slow down a little and focus on my family and take care of my family.

In the coming days, we’ll look at the numbers a bit more closely and I’ll give my take on some other observations on Election Day (and eve…many school board members were downtown watching the returns)…I’ll share with you my encounters with them very soon–it was interesting.

To close, at 12:44am Wednesday May 7, I will go to sleep in a few minutes knowing that we genuinely tried to do some good for the children of Guilford County. And that is nothing to be discouraged about. So thank you all once again. Thank you for allowing me to share with you my vision of Guilford County Schools…and I’m confident that vision will come true one day soon.

Thank you, God bless you all, and may God continue to bless the children of Guilford County.

E.C. 🙂

4 Responses

  1. Thank you, Mr. Huey! You fought the good fight. But like you said, you’re not out. You speak for many, many folks. You have an understanding of the issues that only a person who has actually “been there” could ever understand. Thanks – to you and your family – for running.

  2. Great choice to keep the website up.
    Thank you for your time.
    You really do have the kids best
    interest at heart.
    Thank you for all you do!!!!!!!!!!!!

  3. God bless, Erik. You are the winner on our scorecard.

  4. Erik it was a tough day but fun to get ot and work the polls to tell people about you . The first time should not be your last time, lets do it again and maybe the citizens of Guilford County will wake up and vote for the best candidate not the annointed one like Mc Kinney . I still can’t wait to see his campaign contributions. and see the many TREBIC CARTEL people on the annointed one.

Leave a Reply

