Tidbits from ConvergeSouth

The image “https://i0.wp.com/edcone.typepad.com/convergelogo.jpg” cannot be displayed, because it contains errors. I went to my first ConvergeSouth today at North Carolina A&T State University, spoke at my first ConvergeSouth…this will not be my last.

The image “https://i0.wp.com/farm3.static.flickr.com/2034/1639563243_5c75de913c_m.jpg” cannot be displayed, because it contains errors. The image “https://i0.wp.com/farm3.static.flickr.com/2154/1640437650_e772d0583d_m.jpg” cannot be displayed, because it contains errors. The subject of my talk was how to blog when you’re new to blogging, new to politics, and how to have fun doing it.

The image “https://i0.wp.com/farm3.static.flickr.com/2166/1640438444_c6aaab47f8_m.jpg” cannot be displayed, because it contains errors. I had two participants in my session, both were students from A&T State University, one of which was Michael McCray (pictured), editor-in-chief of the A&T Newspaper, The A&T Register.

Photos are courtesy of ConvergeSouth’s Sue Polinsky.

I videotaped my remarks, and I will get those up on the website shortly. In the meantime, News 14 Carolina did a one-on-one interview after my remarks were complete, check back here later today when the story is up online.

Here’s a Web story with a quote from me from News 14.

Ran into Greensboro’s Ed Cone (of EdCone.com), good to see you and meet for the first time. Saw Greensboro City Councilwoman Sandy Carmany.

Ran into and had a good conversation with Billy Jones, who recently launched an ambitious effort to seek the office of Mayor of Greensboro as a write-in candidate. He’s to be admired. He made some good points as he and I were talking. He seeks change in Greensboro from a citizen’s perspective, not a developer’s perspective. He puts the roots in grass roots, he’s pledged not to take campaign donations, and he says he’s getting a lot of support.

I’m on the outside looking in as far as the race for Greensboro mayor, as I’m no longer officially a GSO resident. But it’s ironic that I passed Yvonne Johnson as she was driving along Wendover Ave. around 12:30 today.

Met Joe Ovittore, who’s planning a run next year against Congressman Howard Coble. He wants to get together for coffee soon to talk education policy as it relates to Washington. I accepted his invite.

I wish all of our candidates the very best.

This post is developing…more shortly

*******************************

E.C. 🙂

One Response

  1. EC. Thank you for your support, you know you’ve got mine.

    It was good to finally meet you.

Leave a comment