Teachers on the Brink: Dudley teacher charged (N&R)

https://i0.wp.com/www.dudleyhighboostersclub.com/p62679752_2778.jpg From a staff report in today’s News & Record:

GREENSBORO — A Dudley High teacher has been charged with simple assault after a 14-year-old student accused the teacher of hitting him on Nov. 13.

Robert Lee Bullard, 59, resigned the same day as the accusation.

According to his arrest warrant, Bullard punched Tyrick Glover in the face. He was released on a written promise to appear in court on Feb. 27.

Bullard was hired in August and taught social studies, according to Guilford County Schools.

*******************************

GCS’ image problem just got worse.

E.C. 🙂

4 Responses

  1. can you blame him? as a spouse of a gcs teacher i must admit i am surprised it doesnt happen more often.

  2. When I was at Dudley from 70-74 the male teachers walked around with baseball bats and used them regularly.

  3. As a Dudley graduate of 1996, I am appalled at what I see at Dudley now. I don’t know if I had a blind eye to it when I attended, but now it is totally out of hand. When I walked through the halls, eventhough they were clean I still felt like singing “welcome to the jungle”. Students walking the halls as if they were not at school, cursing like old sailors, and no respect. I think community leaders really have got their hands full with this one. Something has to give. I know that I love my former school and would tell anyone my years at Dudley were some of the best years of my life and I feel that I received a great education there. PLEASE SOMEBODY HELP OUR YOUNG BLACK PEOPLE!!!!!!!

  4. The reason the kids of our class and day seldom got “out of line” was because we knew the consequences of our actions. We also knew that our parents supported the teachers, which increased the level of those consequences. Now, the teachers have little authority to set effective consequences for bad behavior. The parents, who have lost control of their own kids, now support the child in their bad behavior and criticize teachers who try to correct the bad behavior so that the students, who want to learn, are not deprived of receiving their education. I often wonder who is in control, the parent or the child.

Leave a comment