No regrets blogging

http://bjimg.sv.publicus.com/apps/pbcsi.dll/bilde?Site=BJ&Date=20080506&Category=NRSTAFF&ArtNo=132762904&Ref=AR&MaxW=360&Border=0

(N&R credit)

My friend Tony Wilkins offers inspiration on blogging the vote…and I have no regrets.

Wilkins today revisits Greensboro’s Bill Burckley, in his recent comments to the News & Record (we talked about them here not long ago). As it relates to last week’s vote, Wilkins says:

What’s the correlation between blogging and not being elected locally?

Recently Erik Huey and Greg Woodard. I voted for Erik because of the information I learned about him on his blog, and he had the Rhino endorsement. Yet he finished fifth out of five.

A while back Joe Wilson, Bill Knight and Billy Jones. During that same election Sandy Carmany’s posts on her blog certainly contributed to her election loss after serving 16 years.

Before that Roch Smith, Jr. and David Hoggard.

Bill Burckley, Greensboro’s Karl Rove, states a candidate should never blog because they “get sloppy”. That may be the case for Carmany but I haven’t seen that in any other candidate blog.

The candidates I mention above are good people and could serve this city/county well. Does blogging play a role or might these just be coincidences?

I do think blogging plays an important role, and will continue to do so. And I have no regrets blogging the vote for the past year-and-a-half. This blog has been the anchor for my campaign, and even though I was unsuccessful, I have continued this blog into a full-fledged stand-alone product that will continue to be successful as an independent mouthpiece, watchdog and sounding board for Guilford Co. Schools. Not once did I ever think blogging would substitute for traditional campaigning, but it was useful, in every sense of the word.

E.C. 🙂

2 Responses

  1. It’s just more proof that a candidate can put themselves out there for public dissection yet in the end, voters don’t research candidates. I seriously worry about our entire voting process. It’s nothing more than a game of multiple guess. No, I don’t have a better idea. I wish I did. But still, others will suffer for the laziness of the average voter, and the “winners” will be the ones that bought the most campaign signs. Sad, very sad.

  2. I can’t believe blogging cost Erik any votes. If anything it was the basis of the support he received. The problem may be that there are still so few “blog-aware” voters.

Leave a comment