Sharpe: Huey “too radical” for School Board

http://www.gcsnc.com/images/sharpe.jpg” cannot be displayed, because it contains errors. I guess I didn’t receive Anita Sharpe’s vote on Tuesday.

I was speechless when I read this moments ago in the latest Rhino Times, which is hitting the streets now. The outgoing GCS Dist. 5 board member tells Rhino reporter Paul Clark that I made a mistake running against the Bonds and that “running as a candidate for change rarely works in school board races.”

“He’s too radical,” Sharpe said. “Radical doesn’t work well with the county commissioners, and it doesn’t work well with the school board. An anti-school board campaign doesn’t work.”

If I’m so radical, how did I receive the support of two other SITTING Board members…your colleagues? If I’m radical, how come I received the support of many many teachers and parents countywide? Lawyers, city councilmen, a major realtor in High Point…was my agenda too radical for them?

What about my platform was radical? The part about putting children first or the part about fiscal accountability?

My wife just told me that Sharpe’s words are a compliment. Thank you for reiterating how much more work we need to do in Guilford County Schools.

E.C. 🙂

3 Responses

  1. I’ve been a big fan of Anita Sharpe in the past, but she’s dead wrong here. If no one pushes for change, how will the status quo ever change? And I’m in the camp that believes the status quo on the Guilford County School Board needs to change – badly.

    Anita has been on enough losing votes to realize this. If anyone should understand the importance of new voices on the board, it’s her.

    Oh, and you were right about the bonds, too. I shudder to think what how this board is going to mismanage a $457 million check.

  2. I don’t know what has Anita’s panties all in a wad but to call EC radical is actually comical.

    I’m guessing that she never met him face to face because he’s actually quite the opposite. Of all the candidates he was the only one that actually spoke about the kids. Maybe that does seem radical to her since currently the school board talks very little about kids and education. It seems they are more concerned about contractors and money.

    I can’t emphasize enough that the school board represents over 70,000 kids and EC made them the priority in his campaign. I guess that is radical if you look at the status quo.

  3. Speaking about kids and real needs is radical. Political gaming has become central and kids, provided they serve a purpose within the game plan, can come into play but only then. You see, at the end of the day this is about the powers, the Oz if you will, and marketing perceptions that are created by the political team. The purpose has become to market Greensboro. Marketers play to ignorance and spin the information. Without awareness, Anita may be caught up in the game. While she has sincere intentions to help, her idea of helping may not result in radically clear effective solutions. Huey, you want to find solutions which appear to some as radical…. you call our attention to facts some had rather not acknowledge. All the facts don’t fit with the spin. Keeping it honest is not consistent with marketing perceptions, the intentions of those who need to spin for a living, or those looking for a purpose to self perpetuate a need for the status quo or affirm it.

Leave a comment