Term Limits for GCS Board Members

Part of my Guilford County School Board campaign platform and pledge is to commit to the discussion of term limits. See this past blog entry for more.

By example, I would support the discussion of having limited terms (such as a maximum of three 4-year terms or a maximum of four 2-year terms). In my opinion, spending 20 years on a school board is ludicrous. If I’m elected, I would commit to serving no more than three terms and I would encourage the discussion of this matter to take place during my first term in office. It is clear that we have some power-hungry board members and this is dangerous to the health and welfare of our schools and community. It is time for this board to practice responsible governing.

Greensboro city councilman Tom Phillips could teach a few things or two to some of our GCS Board members. During last night’s council meeting, Phillips said that “leaving the council will allow others the chance to serve…you need to have some turnover for some fresh ideas.”

Case in point, many of our board members haven’t been in the classroom in a while and have no idea of what’s going on inside our schools. Having term limits will allow the opportunity to have a fresh new perspective on ideas.

What do you think?

E.C. 🙂

4 Responses

  1. What I like about you EC is that you are thinking about the kids. You show a lot of spunk and I admire you for your efforts. I agree that 100 years on the School Board is too many (Dot Kearns). Okay, I know it’s hasn’t been 100 years but good Lord one would think it was with this woman. Keep thinking of the kids EC and you are one step ahead in my book!

  2. If I didn’t have the best interest of the kids at heart, I wouldn’t be running. I have high hopes for the primary next year but even if I don’t win, I’m still going to have fun talking about the issues that matter and doing the things that our elected board members should be doing. Like taking on the tough issues, meeting with parents and teachers, listening to them, providing them a voice and being a public advocate. When I saw the quote by Tom Phillips today, I immediately thought of my pledge to serve a limited number of terms. But rest assured that while I am on the Board, my pledge and promise is to faithfully execute the office to which I serve, to my God and my country, according to the laws of this country, state and county. It is an oath and pledge I will refuse to take lightly. Those children need a voice. You parents need a voice. You teachers and administrators and PTA folks and taxpayers need a voice. That’s why I’m running. Thanks for the kind words, W.G.O. I hope in the next year of campaigning, I can earn your (and everyone else’s) vote and support. This is the definition of grass-roots because it is about the children.

  3. What about the possibility of pulling out of Iraq, letting Iran invade and lose resources fighting their own kind,
    and then come in and mop up the dregs?

  4. I think you’re looking for the anti-war blog, this isn’t it, sorry

Leave a comment